Mardi Gras MUSTS

24 Feb

While driving Uptown today, I couldn’t help feeling overwhelmingly excited over the upcoming Mardi Gras season!  Residents along Napoleon Ave. and Magazine St. have their houses decorated with everything purple, green, and gold.  As I was sitting in traffic,  my thoughts focused on the outfits I must plan for my days of parading and there are rules to these outfits!

1. MUST be comfy – Mardi Gras is an all day, all weekend affair and there is quite a bit of walking involved.  My shoe of choice is usually Converse and what better color that purple?!

2. MUST be cute – well that’s pretty self explanitory.  Mardi Gras is like a giant social event you see everyone and their mother on the parade route.  You MUST dress to impress becasue you never know who you might run into!

3. MUST be able to be found in the crowd – there are people everywhereee, sometimes you can’t move!  A hot pink wig would be appropriate in this situation.

4. MUST have something to larger than a purse to lug around all day – a backpack like this one comes in handy for packing the camera, the flask, the hand sanitizer, and the most important item of the day, the roll of toilet paper!

You can find this adorable Marc by Marc Jacobs backpack at Shopbop.com, my favorite shopping destination

For those of you who have experienced the phenomenon that is Mardi Gras, you should already know the importance of these MUSTS for the four straight days of insanity!

2 Responses to “Mardi Gras MUSTS”

  1. Christy Lorio February 24, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Hand sanitzer is a good idea, never thought to bring that and I’m not sure what that says about me. I always being toilet paper with me, I’ve joked about selling it at bars I’d make a fortune.

  2. Christina {Sweet On Design} February 24, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Oh my goodness! These are such great MG shoes and the PERFECTTTT Mardi Gras Backpack!!! This will be my first Mardi Gras away from NOLA in 7 years.. big time bummer. Hope you have a fabulous time and catch a coconut or two 😉

Leave a Reply

